Uplowman C Of E Primary School

A haven of hope, where every child matters as a child of God

Uplowman, Tiverton, Devon EX16 7DR

01884 820552


Our Governors

The Governing body is made up of people from a range of backgrounds but all with a common interest, that being the wellbeing of the pupils at school and the staff. 

They are there to assist the Head Teacher and Staff in the strategic management of the school.  The positions are voluntary and Governors give their experience and expertise in order to help provide a facility where the children are both happy and striving to reach their potential in every way. 

The Full Governing body usually meet six times per year, in addition to these meetings there are two sub-committees linked to Resources and Teaching & Learning. These committees provide an opportunity for all school matters to be regularly discussed and moved forward. 

As our school is now part of the 'Halberton & Uplowman Federation', there is a joint Governing Body that looks after the interests of both schools and recent reconstitution sets out the structure as below.

The Halberton & Uplowman Federation came into effect on 31st August 2015.  

Co-opted Governors

Mrs Rebecca Hart Prieto 


Local Authority Governor

Mr Adam Davies


Parent Governors

Ms Kirsty Bolt

Ms Carly Wooff


Staff Governor

Miss Kirsty Northcott 


Foundation Governors

Mrs Stephanie Packham - (Lay Ex-Officio, Chair of  Governors)

Mr Shevek Pring (Vice Chair of Governors) - TCLP Foundation Governor

Mr Nick Govier - TCLP Foundation Governor

 Vacancy - Diocesan Foundation Governor


Executive Headteacher

Mr Steven Badcott


The Clerk to the Governing Body is Mrs Debbie Simmonds and can be contacted at [email protected] 


Governor Code of Conduct

Governors Area of Responsibility 2023-2024


Governor Attendance at Meetings

Governors' Meeting Attendance 2021-2022 

Governors Attendance at Meetings 2022-2023


Full Governing Body Meeting Minutes

October 2018

November 2018

March 2019

July 2019

October 2019

December 2019

March 2020

May 2020

August 2020

October 2020

November 2020 

February 2021

May 2021

July 2021

October 2021

November 2021

March 2022

May 2022

July 2022

October 2022

November 2022

March 2023

April 2023

July 2023

November 2023

February 2024


Teaching & Learning Committee Meeting Minutes

March 2019

June 2019

November 2019

January 2020

FGB Meetings only during COVID19


Resources Committee Meeting Minutes

March 2019

June 2019

October 2019

November 2019

February 2020

FGB meetings only during COVID19



The Governor Booklet - September 2018


Governor Information


Governor Information 2019-20.

Governor Information 2020-21.

Governor website info 2022-23.pdf


Terms of Reference for committees:

Full Governing Body

Resources Committee  -  currently under review

Teaching and Learning

Admissions Committee

Complaints Committee

First Hearing Committee

Second Hearing Committee

Head Teacher Appraisal Committee

Performance & Pay Committee

Pupil Discipline Committee

Safeguarding Lead Governor Committee